21 days of vegetable dishes

So far, this is day 4 of 21. 

Officially, I’m on a cleanse, but unofficially, I’m challenging myself to 21 days of primarily vegetarian dishes. In working with only vegetables, I try to explore various cuisines so I can make more satiating dishes. I’m a pork-beef-seafood-anyfood, kind of gal. Mac n cheese to simple oysters, but honestly, I’ve never pushed myself with veggies.

But let me start from Tuesday.

Each day, I start with a green garden juice made with kale, celery, wheatgrass, lemon, ginger and green apple.

It’s a pain to juice this blend fresh each morning, but in general, the sooner you drink fresh juices, the more nutritious they are for you. This one is a riff off a local health grocery store that probably makes a dozen of these per hour. OK, that may be just the lunch hour, but it’s really good. 

 

First night’s menu was an easy recipe warm-up with stuff around the pantry. 

-Rainbow quinoa salad with cashews, parsley, & lemon juice

-Roasted carrots and parsnips with yogurt dill dip 

-Salad of frisee and radicchio from the garden with herbed olive oil  

Night 2 was more involved.

-Kale salad with pumpkin seeds 

-Mushroom bisque 

-Curried patê of split pea and carrot with apple slices, yogurt and harrisa served sharing-style 

This harissa is super spicy and we buy it from a local goat cheese maker in Pescadero, CA. Day 3 was 

-Steamed zoodles with raw tomato sauce (tomato, spring onion, garlic, cashews and olive oil)

-Sweet potato chips with garlicky hummus and yogurt

Day 4 (tonight!)

-Soup of grilled celery root, blackened garlic and grilled onion

-Lentil-croquettes filled with feta with grilled spring onions on a bed of greens and sliced heirloom tomato with balsamic vinegar. (side of cilantro-lime and yogurt sauce)

I’m really stretching my brain with new recipes, but so far the lentil croquettes are my favorite!  

Leave a Reply

