Day 9:21

image

Today’s breakfast shake consist of juice made from 1/2 cup celery, 1 cup fennel stalk, half a bitter melon, 1/2 cucumber, and 4 leaves of kale. Once I tasted this I knew I needed some sweetener so I added coconut water. The bitter melon was extremely bitter!  I then made a SP Cleanse shake with the dry ingredients.  I like chewing on a little something to get my day going, so I munched on a celery stick while making this.  It’s surprising to me how sweet and flavorful ingredients are when you eat them raw or by themselves.

I have had headaches for the past 3 or 4 days.  It’s like a dull ache at the front of my head.   I finally looked it up last night and it seems that my headaches are a result from sudden change to a low carb diet.  At first I thought it was a side effect from detoxing or maybe caffeine withdrawal but it wasn’t. I also found that I have been really irritable. The fact that my muscles and body are more tired, I haven’t been able to exercise for longer durations than 45 minutes. The last time I tried to ride my bike to work I was really fatigued.

image

The reality of a liver detox or cleanse is that it’s meant to jump start you from your normal diet back to basics. From that point on you can go wherever you want; back to your normal habits or changing your lifestyle to incorporate positive things that you’ve learned.

The detox itself puts your body through a lot of intense changes. Perhaps our daily food intake masks what real food does to us because we’re not really paying attention.  For example I’m waiting to digest my shake before I ride to work for two reasons; 1. The whole food fiber chia seeds are fibrous and the bitter melon is a diuretic.  Secondly I have to wait for my bicycle seat to dry off from the rain last night. 🙂  Since there’s practically nothing else in my system, it’s pretty obvious what foods are doing what for me!

Leave a Reply

