Mussaman style chicken curry

image

There are a few dishes that I love to make because they are easy. Preblended spices or ready made pastes can be delicious and helpful when you’re busy, however, those rare times when I feel energetic and have ample ingredients in the house, I willl embark on super-recipes!  This recipe is not easy, but with a bit of practice, I hope to get better at it.

I never knew what I was missing out on by throwing away my cilantro stems. This is a flavorful component for this curry dish. 

image

image

Chop chop chop.  Garlic, shallot, galangal, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass is missing but will be added later.. (I sent my man to the store to pick up a few stalks!)

image

Combination of whole and ground spices.. The nutmeg, cloves, coriander seed, and candlenut (I like using this rather than peanuts as it is more rounded and nutty without being peanutty..) The cumin, cardamom, c and cassia bark, were preground spices.

image

I dry fried the spices until fragrant, then let them cool. I dry fried the other ingredients, then mixed everything together.  I put everything in a Cuisinart and pulverized it into a thick paste.

image

image

Fried all potatoes and chicken in canola oil until golden..and place on paper towels to drain excess oil. In the mean time, fry coconut cream in a cast iron skillet or pot, and fry the paste.  Incorporate more coconut cream and sugar until it darkens and becomes a bit caramelized.  Add fish sauce, more broth a little at a time.  This recipe likes to bubble and splash a lot.  

image

image

Not in recipe, but I added some carrots and diakon.  Later, after the carrots were in for 10 minutes, I added the potatoes.  I turned down the burner and let this all meld and simmer.

image

Frying the chicken and potatoes both cooks and helps them be nice and moist inside. Normally, I wouldn’t cook
Chicken until the very end but this method was perfect for tender meat.

image

Because this curry was quite thick but a little runny, I served the rice on top with some fresh Thai herbs from the garden and limes.

Leave a Reply

