Escape the heat.. with heat!

image

This morning at 10am, the temperature was 90 degrees Fahrenheit and rising. I decided that a cold noodle salad would be a perfect lunch.  With little to no cooking, and only chopping of herbs and ingredients, I could use up all the miscellaneous produce in the fridge!

Luckily, I had shucked some fresh fava beans.  Using the same water to boil the rice noodles, I blanched the beans until al dente.  Then, I sauteed them with a little raw sesame oil and Chinese chives.

The dressing was a mixture of coconut milk, lime juice, tamarind pulp paste and fish sauce.  Freshly chopped lemongrass, Thai basil, shallot, garlic, shaved carrot, Thai chilies, more Chinese chives and freshly julienned ginger make this an extraordinary dish. 

Personally, I like making it a bit soupy so I can use a fork and spoon!  Add a little crushed peanut and chili flakes with the fava on top and it becomes a filling entree!

Leave a Reply

