The trouble with beans..

20121211-085046.jpg
I think I’ve deboned about 8 chickens and finally got the basic technique down. That’s not to say l am good at it, it just means that I don’t have to freeze-frame Jacques Pepin’s demo every step of the way.

This particular roll is stuffed with a kale and cooked lentil-quinoa mixture. Serious protein!

20121211-085647.jpg
Here is the return of the bean. I love the texture and taste when it is cooked, but damn if I can keep a single bean intact! I peeled all the beans of their thick skins, but I’m not sure why even then, they fall apart. It is a bit like peeling fava beans, but slightly easier. I did a side of beans with this dinner: bacon lardons coat the pan and then I simmered the beans in broth and garlic until they were almost soft, then threw in chopped kale for the remaining cooking time.

20121211-090039.jpg
Because the beans were simmered slowly and they are so starchy, a nice gravy formed and went perfectly with the mashed potatoes I made. Yogurt and potatoes with a little salt and pepper, but LOTS of freshly grated garlic!

20121211-090226.jpg
I think I cooked the chicken too hot (400) too early for too long. The internal temp was already 165 at 35 minutes. Oops. Cooked well, but not as juicy as if I set it to 375 and waited a little longer.

Leave a Reply

