peeling roasted chestnuts

20121117-235940.jpg
My husband and I had a roasted chestnut peeling race before Thanksgiving. He was faster, so he “won”, but I had to peel less, so I’m really the winner 😉

I froze about half of the chestnuts. I chose the intact ones to freeze and the broken ones for my rice stuffing..

Today, I used the last few morsels of chestnuts for my breakfast-soup.

20121205-111118.jpg
Lotus seeds and chestnuts are perfect sources of protein. They are low in fat, and glycemic load, too! I prefer them to other nuts and seeds.

20121205-111314.jpg
By the way, the big oblong thing is a lotus pod. Sometimes they are sold linked in a chain of pods. Sort of like kelp pods.

20121205-111439.jpg
The soup is so hot, the steam makes it look gray..

20121205-111510.jpg
Going to eat some kimchi, too! Need my probiotics and vitamins.. You can see that I prepare my kimchi in wedges. I only slice off what I can eat at meals. I like keeping the cabbage and ingredients in between the leaves intact versus mixing it all up. I’m not sure why.

20121205-111545.jpg

20121205-111626.jpg
That was spicy! It also warmed me up! I had a Yerba matte hot tea to go with my breakfast. The weather is damp and cold today. What a way to combat it!

Leave a Reply

