Water? Anyone?

Our water pump turned off yesterday mid-afternoon. I was not happy. I ended up buying about 6 – 2.5 gallon containers of water so I could wash food, cook, drink, boil and clean. The pump guy came out today and fixed the water flow, but the water has been off and on brownish-lightly discolored and I can’t do anything except use it to wash dishes. Sigh** Of all the days in the year, I had to have water issues now?

Thankfully, I was able to rinse and brine the turkeys today! The two 15 lb birds are sitting in a giant brining bag in the cooler outside. Immersed in icy brine, I’m sure they will be delicious! My mother in-law says, “Brining’s for pu$$ies”, but that’s because she has an old-school turkey roasting dish / steamer that makes amazingly moist and glistening brown crispy skin. I’ll brine to get my turkey moist any day.

-I love that my mother-in-law swears like a drunken sailor.. 😉

20121119-182426.jpg
Picture of my brine. Lots of herbs, spices, touch of brown sugar and kosher salt.

20121119-182522.jpg
So, without running water, I was still able to make a chicken stock, vegan mushroom stock (and with that batch of vegan gravy), roast butternut squash and cook the soup base. It was a pain to clean the pots and pans, but it had to be done.

20121119-182820.jpg
I’m making a vegan colcannon, but updating the ingredients to be turnip, cauliflower based and not exclusively potato-based. I steamed the cauliflower and kale using a pot and two tiers of bamboo steamer. I only used 2.5 cups of water! Woohoo.

Next, I need to make the dressings– or stuffings as they are more commonly called. I already chopped and baked my sourdough bread for the sausage-leek bread dressing. Now, to make the gluten-free wild rice version. I’m pretty tired from cooking and prep work, so I told my husband to order take out.

Leave a Reply

