Cranberry Sauce

20121111-141043.jpg
My goal with this years cranberry sauce is not to make too much! I forget each person takes no more than a few tablespoons, so this year, I used one bag of cranberries.
I also like my sauce tart and sweet, but I loathe using refined sugars. Even last year I used agave syrup, but this year, I tried using coconut water, apple and (not pictured) medjool dates!

20121111-141319.jpg

20121111-141327.jpg

20121111-141334.jpg

20121111-141340.jpg
I tasted this and added dates until I thought the balance of sweet and tart were perfect. I grated ginger and added the juice of 1 large lime. Normally, I would use an orange.

The sauce is a little “chutney” like in consistency, but very flavorful without the sappy sweet flavor.

Leave a Reply

