Glee for ghee!

Wake up shake! (No headache today, YAY!)
1 peeled kiwi
1.5 cups fresh coconut water
.5 cup spring water
-sp complete shake mix & whole food fiber
1tbsp hempseed oil

20121014-130112.jpg
So, the SP Complete Cleanse states that you can use butter during the cleanse. For those who adhere strictly to the no-dairy doctrine, just read a little about the history of ghee from an Ayurvedic standpoint here

My philosophy is that there is good and bad in everything. “Good” food when paired with another food can sometimes be “bad”. This is a culmination of experiences and my background of growing up in a very ethnic area. Chinese, Taiwanese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Philippino, Thai, Punjabi, you name it. In my early 20’s, the big diet fads were Atkins, the Blood Type Diet, Caveman and Southbeach. But I always thought, wow. Isn’t it easy to just blanket one approach to food and for the most part, solve a lot of people’s problems because they never ate well before? Or, due to location, are not able to get a variety of fresh ingredients or proteins? Maybe they hate crab because they’ve only eaten crab cakes? Or think that chow mein is what Chinese people eat at home and all Chinese food is greasy. Some people self-diagnose or have experienced food allergies so severe that they must adhere to strict diets, but perhaps those have to do with your genetic make up and may not work for other people.

I grew up eating everything (I mean offal and shellfish and gooey duck and foi gras, escargot, everything good and everything junky!) and I’m now trying to eat what fuels me the best and what is visually appealing, healthy and good for me.

Since starting this cleanse a few years ago, I noticed we barely create any garbage waste that isn’t compostable or recycleable. I get much of my raw grains and rices from the bulk aisle and produce section. Meats are from the butcher, wrapped in recycled or compostable paper. No more styrofoam trays, plastic wrapped meats or seafoods! Everything is fresh and I just got faster at preparing things. Better cookware helped, too, as retaining heat in a cheap metal pot is going to burn your food where as a heavy enamel coated cast iron pot will simmer and stew all your flavors and nutrients together.

Back to ghee and butter. Here is an article that explains why butter & ghee are acceptable “diaries” while milk is not.

I use ghee, especially when cooking something like hash browns! Mmmm

First, I boiled water, then peeled & sliced a turnip and 1/4 Japanese sweet potato with a mandolin. (That sweet potato is only half done!) I turned off the burner and threw the sliced veggies on to blanch them. Turnips first, then removed and let dry. The sweet potato was more starchy, so after blanching that, the water was done.

20121014-130352.jpg

Then, I practice my knife skills and julienne all the veggies.
I squeezed out all the water in the veggies again in a paper towel. I chopped some parsley and added some salt, mixing all of it together.

20121014-130619.jpg

20121014-130626.jpg

20121014-130639.jpg
I skipped a photo of my cast iron skillet with a tablespoon of ghee, but that was on medium high the whole time. I layer out all the hash on the skillet and let it fry for a few minutes before flipping them with a flat spatula. Keep flipping until everything is cooked through. You can lower the heat and steam it a bit, but I like my hash crispy. I could have cooked this a little longer, because it was a little chewy, but I didn’t want to have just fried veggies. I think if I parboiled instead of blanched, it would’ve worked even better.

Leave a Reply

