Pozole-slowfood

20121003-182133.jpg
Pork Shoulder Pozole with Achiote and Chipotle.

20121003-182236.jpg
I soaked the hominy for a whole day. I wanted to cook this last night, but our house was too hot. Mountain cabins have no air conditioning ๐Ÿ˜‰

20121003-182354.jpg
Braising pork shoulder in Achiote-garlic-oregano with water and broth.

20121003-182451.jpg
Accoutrements!

20121003-182556.jpg
After the hominy flowers, I add it to the stewing meat.

The thing about making things from scratch is that you are making everything how you want it. No extra sugar, preservatives, salt. It does take time so I can’t say I would choose a week night to do this again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have at least another hour of cooking to go!

20121003-190100.jpg
There’s a certain happy moment when your meat has a metamorphosis from rock hard square block to tender, fall apart meat. At least I feel happy about it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Recipe References: Incredibly beautiful presentation and recipe concept from Morsels & Musings , Truly authentic “Pozole Estilo Jalisco” recipe and back-story found at Mexico Cooks! and an approachable recipe from Bon Appetit. I like cross referencing various concepts in order to make a product that works with my pantry! Also, many recipes start with canned hominy, which I didn’t have.

 

One thought on “Pozole-slowfood

Leave a Reply

