DinnerOfDreams

I love to eat. Can you tell? As I was looking through my cookbooks for a recipe containing chayote I realized I needed more cookbooks from more countries!

I wanted to debone the game hen for tonight’s dinner but also do some wild rice. This was good because I need practice for my Thanksgiving wild rice dressing (“stuffing” in more pedestrian terms.)

I needed something to go with the hearty and earthy rice. Initially I looked up Brazilian Chicken, then Portuguese chicken, then I remembered Macau.. At that point, I looked up Macanese Chicken.. then I found African Chicken!

This recipe sounded like a delicious blend of everything I liked (and had in the house!). Chinese 5-spice, coconut milk, spicy peppers, and peanut butter (though I only had almond butter)! Mmmmm

20120910-213303.jpg
Spice Marinade

20120910-213359.jpg

20120910-213409.jpg
My sauce didn’t use tomato paste or more than a few tablespoons of paprika.. so I’m not sure how my coloration is so pale while others on the Internet are so vibrantly red.

20120910-213526.jpg
My wild rice blends chopped fresh roasted chestnuts, Chinese sausage, and shitake mushrooms. I usually omit the sausage in lieu of celery for a vegan version for family meals. It’s still fragrant and fun to eat!

20120910-213722.jpg

As I was stewing the chicken, I realized I was supposed to brown it first. Well, I just removed them when almost cooked and put them under the broiler. I am glad I made so much sauce! My husband gets to take the remaining rice and sauce to work for lunch.

Did I mention we are traveling to Macau as our first destination during the Winter holidays? I am super excited!!
That’s why I’m pre-eating my way through some well known dishes. Haha Actually, I need to be careful. I can balloon up pretty good eating my way through Chinese-Portuguese fare!

20120910-214036.jpg

As a cleanser dish post meal, the chayote&carrot soup was simply wonderful and bright tasting!

Leave a Reply

