GazpachoToGo!

20120905-102329.jpg
I smelled tomatoes when I woke up.

It’s a nice smell: Sweet fragrant earthy fruit tingling your nose.. But to me, that means overripe!

I softly dug through through my flat of tomatoes feeling for the “softies”. The slight wrinkle in skin, the tender give of flesh when it should bounce back.. At least a dozen were close to bursting.

Gazpacho!
20 Dry Farmed Tomatoes, halved
1 small Lebanese cucumber, coarsly chopped
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon dried espazote
1 chopped dried (fresh) chipotle, soaked in boiling water and deseeded, to taste. ( Add 1/4 of the chipotle at a time and taste. )
1 tbsp organic, gluten free rice powder
2tbsp+ olive oil
dash Champagne vinegar
dash Reserve balsamic vinegar

Chopped radishes, white onion, Lebanese cucumber for garnish.

Blend tomatoes and cucumber in pulse setting until all incorporated. Add spices one at a time and pulverize. Taste for sweetness and acidity. Should be a good fresh flavor and thick in consistency. Add the vinegars and oil and take care to add the chipotle a little at a time. You can also taste the steeping water for how spicy the pepper is.

I’m taking this to work with me because I’m meeting with a client. Sometimes we don’t have time for a group lunch and I don’t like care for the wharf-food. It’s a bit overpriced and oddly, I don’t like any of the Mexican taquerias around there.. I’ve tried a lot of them, but they tend to be heavy and underwhelming.

I’m looking forward to eating this!!
Also, I brought enough to share! At least with 4 people! 😉

Leave a Reply

