wonda-ful-wakame

20120814-142121.jpg

I couldn’t resist trying this iced coffee. it was quite strong and had a good refreshing taste. I don’t know if I’d describe it as “sharp” but it was good for canned coffee.

20120814-142149.jpg

I have never tried green tea soba noodles. I like the green color!

20120814-142239.jpg

Typically, seaweed salad is quite vinegar-y, but I wanted salty.. so I chopped some kalamata olives and mixed them with rehydrated wakame and some sliced cucumbers. I added a dash of rice wine vinegar and let the oil from the olives mingle in before serving. I used boiling water to rehydrate the seaweed so the overall salad temperature was warmer than room temp.

20120814-142502.jpg

Earlier, I rehydrated some dried shitake mushrooms. I love doing that because the resulting water is deliciously flavored! Almost-instant mushroom stock! Heated the stock to boil with a sliced mushroom. Added a little low sodium soy sauce to taste.

20120814-142747.jpg

(like the Hello Kitty chopsticks? They are child’s size but since this was a snack, it seemed fitting!)

Assemble the cooked/drained noodles,
place the salad on top, add mushrooms and lastly, spoon in some broth.

20120814-142854.jpg

My second helping of noodles! These tasted quite nice, and were lighter in texture than regular buckwheat noodles. I could faintly taste tea, but I may have been tricked due to the color.

Leave a Reply

