SundayBrunch

Ok– So, last night we had salad and grilled salmon with mashed potatoes. I asked my hubby to “lighten” the mashed potatoes with cauliflower! It turned out very creamy and delicious! However, we bought a whole tail filet and couldn’t eat it all!

I woke up thinking about chicken pot pie. That’s not really a good thing because I become fixated with making it. The last time I made fresh chicken pot pie, we ate dinner about 4 hours later than usual. 😉

20120715-141825.jpg

I still couldn’t get the “pie” concept out of my head. So I found a crust recipe that used oil rather than butter so I could try something new. SECRETLY I didn’t want to deal with measuring the butter from out of the crock. I’m used to those rectangular butter chunks (with nice lines in the foil wrap indicating oz and tablespoons) for baking and am completely useless when forced to measure things.

The recipe I found for Easy Olive Oil Tart worked out OK but was a little small for my pie dish. Also, I’m horrible at converting so I double triple check measurements before starting. But I didn’t read her measurements (ampersand notation) correctly and started out sub 1-cup of flour and had to fix the dough or scrap it after it chilled in the fridge. The oily dough was too overwhelming and I was like– I KNOW this is wrong!

20120715-142214.jpg

I’m still struggling to finish just ONE super-sized mega squash.. Here I sliced enough for our brunch.

20120715-142326.jpg

I sautéed the veggies first and put them in a bowl to cool. Used leftover grilled salmon, mixed with 1/4 cup buttermilk and 1 egg. Sprinkle cherry tomatoes on top. Poured over sautéed zucchini & onions. Baked in a crunchy olive oil savory tart shell. Garnish with freshly snipped parsley and dill. About  500cal per serving.

Nothing a hike today won’t burn off 😉

2 thoughts on “SundayBrunch

Leave a Reply

