RainbowBreakfast

I decided to practice Pilates/dance this morning. To be honest, yoga poses help stretch and strengthen my muscles, but there’s something missing. Smooth transitioning from my ballet and jazz dance training makes me feel more stretchy, I guess. Also, I like dancing to music!

After an hour, I realized I hadn’t made my breakfast shake. I bought a beet, apple, ginger juice yesterday but I really didn’t feel like juice. Maybe for lunch.

I like making food with a ton of color in it. Today, I was pleased to see that I had almost all the colors of the rainbow for ingredients!

20120627-104106.jpg

I had 2 cups of steamed cauliflower from last night’s dinner, a few meager slices of roasted sweet potato and russet potato (I was actually going to throw away), a lonely bunch of green leaves I lopped off a bunch beets, and some spices. (I actually pulled out my calculator in the market to figure out that it was more expensive per pound of beets buying the loose beets rather than the beets with huge leaves still intact? Yes, I’ll pay LESS and eat MORE, thanks!)

I dry sautéed garam masala, cumin, a dash tumeric and ground coriander seed. Then added a scant tablespoon of oil and added the cauliflower. I don’t like to overcook leftovers, but I do like making sure everything is nice and hot and safe to eat! Then I added cubed potatoes and let that fry a bit.

I often wonder if I would pay for this at restaurants. I don’t normally see a vegan hash with mainly veggies and low ratio of white potatoes. I’ve seen tofu, mostly. I personally don’t like tofu that much in vegan dishes. I’m not sure why, but I think it’s because cooks aren’t as creative with the dishes. Flavoring and spices aside, cooks rarely use other wholesome ingredients to make it texturally and visually appetizing (to me). I also think white potatoes are a good delivery system for ketchup and Tabasco sauce. But nutritionally, I’d prefer sweet potato. how much potato do I want to eat? usually not very much or else I fall asleep! 😉

Anyway, I added the chopped beet greens and some cherry tomatoes and turned off the burner after the greens wilted.

I would say that this could serve 2 people, but I ate the whole thing! 2 cups cauliflower, 1/8 cup potato, 1/4 cup sweet potato, 1/3 cup beet greens, 4 cherry tomatoes and 1 tbsp grapeseed oil. Total approx cal=275. I added a few pinches of black pepper and basil from my garden.

20120627-105600.jpg

Leave a Reply

