Dad’sDayFoodieAdventure

I love my in-laws to death!  I called my father in law “Dad” ever since my husband and I got married.  They let us stay in their guest bedroom in a little cottage in the back, which used to be a carriage house 3 generations ago.  It’s really cool and they repainted and carpeted the floors to be really warm and cozy.

They are foodies who travel a lot, so be sure, they impressed us with a great restaurant choice last night and this afternoon for brunch.  We went to Metro Montclair for Sat. Dinner and Bellanico for brunch today (Father’s Day)!

I somehow deleted my entire post of what we ate, but I tell you, simply look at the restaurant’s menu, and we ordered half of each! 🙂  Everything was astounding and delicious.  I think my favorites were theSeared Sea Scallops with fava beans, sea beans (sort of like twine thick string beans with centimeter long sections) at Metro with the Liberty Farms Duck Liver Pâté with cornichons & sesame rice crackers coming in at a close second.

I ordered a set menu at Bellanico; my favorites being a shared appetizer of  SWISS CHARD MALFATTI, BROWNED BUTTER, SAGE, GRANA PADANO.  YUM.  (You thought vegetables couldn’t be more rich, you’ve never tried one of these!)   Equally extravagant is their HAND CRAFTED BURRATA, with GENOVESE BASIL PESTO, CHILLED YELLOW WAX, ROMANO AND FRENCH BEANS.  My husband had the Duck Confit hash with poached egg and hollandaise. Dad had a pork sausage and my mother in law had a sweet corn panna cotta!  I had the set menu with pork saltimbocca and the seared pork belly with the sampler of desserts.  Everyone had something divine to eat and as usual, each dish was so good, we shared bites with eachother and really had a fun time!

If anyone is in the area, you should definitely try one or both of these restaurants out! [Update: if you’re in SF, Aperto up on Potrero Hill, is the sister restaurant to Bellanico which I’ve been to a few times and just LOVE!]

Leave a Reply

