Memorial Day Breakie

20120528-124411.jpg

Get back into healthy foods! omg, this weekend was torture. My stomach was feeling overwhelmed and I kept having sugar highs and lows like a roller coaster.

Yesterday, there were appetizers upon appetizers. Shrimp cocktail, artichoke dip and sourdough bread, spinach frittata bites, fresh carrot with layered tomato sauce-hummus dip (new one for me), pita chips with triple layer dip, yikes! Thankfully, I had snacked up before arrival on green grapes, blueberries and a lot of green tea! I still had a few shrimp, a helping of each bite, but I grazed carefully and slowly.

But more came!!

Pesto chicken enchiladas and eggplant lasagna. Strips of eggplant were the “noodles”. ย This recipe is from Farmer John’s Cookbook.

After all the bridal shower fun and games, the grand-pappy of decadence was brought out: a gorgeous, sinful carrot cake from Butter Cream Bakery in Napa, CA.

I mean,it was like heaven and hell wrapped in every bite. The moist cake was to die for and the creamy, fluffy frosting was like cloudy sugar-love. *sigh!

I had to take breaks from eating as I could literally feel high from the sugar spiking in my body. I was smiling more, talking faster, and feeling like dancing. All the girls eating cake looked like they were experiencing something similar ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, after that, I had some fresh brewed decaf Peets and drove home with a to-go cup, trying not to fall asleep. It took 2 hours. I couldn’t eat when I got home. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, this morning, we ate a yummy cauliflower, veggie hash and poached two eggs to serve on top. A bit less heavy than a typical corned beef hash and potatoes!

So, now, I’m digesting before cycling. We are going to try for 40 miles today. There’s a place to eat 3/4 of the ride, so I should have MORE than enough carbs from this weekend to last me 2 hours! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

