wed.ride.acupuncture

22mph wind at my back this afternoon. No wonder no one cycling the opposite way waved or made eye contact 😉

My bike is about 17lb. I’m about 107. Together, it gets darn wobbly if I get sudden gust of cross wind, which makes me ride faster. The wind picked up ALL the dirt/dust on HWY1 from the recent crop tending, so I was breathing in some particulate today. My throat hurts and my nose is all tickly.

Acupuncture was great. I fell asleep during treatment and felt darn refreshed after.

I have been using an acupuncturist, massage therapist and a deep tissue/ chiropractor/ marathon coach for my well-being. It started a year ago when I had a mysterious tailbone issue that literally put me on my back for a month and forced me to reevaluate my entire way of living. I have no tailbone pain, and it was determined to be a strained ligament that crossed right below the coccyx. A year of weekly therapy, professional fitting on my bikes, and updated components have alleviated all symptoms. I also picked up yoga and core training to better help my cycling form.

A few things that created the hotbed of disaster: Commuting 1.5hours (each way) 3 days a week+ Sitting in front of a computer for 8hours, not stretching or taking real breaks, running on banked roads around my house, riding on a bike with too long of cranks, too “racy” of handlebars with too far a reach+ naturally rotating left hip that misaligns and needs resetting every month or so!

Whew!

I’m much more in tune with what I can do and how my body deals with everything. It’s been a great lesson. 😉

Leave a Reply

