Thursday.Dinner

Mmm. I was at the market and looking in the cheese section. I don’t know why, but I just didn’t want to get anything. I thought perhaps I’d get a Point Reyes Blue and maybe a smoked Gouda.. which I haven’t had since pre-cleanse, but I went to get veggies and a fresh salmon steak instead. It’s SALMON SEASON here in No. Cal, so everyone is featuring and selling some beautiful fillets and steaks!

20120517-095406.jpg

There’s a great side of the highway market on the way home. I got these beautiful ears of corn there. I pulled out the silk and washed the corn, dried them, slathered ghee on the kernels and rewrapped the husks.

20120517-095553.jpg

I bought some beets with great looking beet greens attached. I didn’t want to bake them, so I made a beet soup instead. I peeled, chopped and boiled the beets with homemade stock and then removed the beets. I then chopped the beet greens, onion and garlic, simmered that for 15 min and readied raw chopped onions, red pepper, and thinly sliced basil as accoutrements. I like the ritual of serving yourself, then you ladle in the broth.

20120517-100221.jpg

Fresh chive and dill really make this soup shine! Hubby had seconds!

20120517-100324.jpg

The salmon steak was yum, buttery were the potatoes, and I was happy to finally eat a potato! It’s not “forbidden” in the cleanse menu, just not as nutritious as sweet potatoes.

I have some potatoes growing in the garden bed, so can’t wait for those to be ready! Apparently, the grow easily in this type of clay-ish soil.

Leave a Reply

