Day20.Dinner

Famished! I went to the store hungry, but with a mission! Fish tacos! I was happy because the seafood counter had some really good looking piece of talapia.

And what’s this?!

20120515-090548.jpg

Sprouted corn tortillas, no preservatives, no fillers or binders, 60 calories per tortilla and only 7.5g fat, 5g sodium. I steamed them and they softened up great and tasted great, too.

So, I marinated my fillet in some grapeseed oil, lime juice, grated jalepeño and chili. I also made wild rice cooked with dried chipotles, onions and cumin.

I made fresh guacamole and pico de gallo as well. I like the trad way Mexican restaurants serve tacos: 2 small corn tortillas stacked full of meat, rice and beans. Sans-beans tonight as I didn’t want to cook more food.

20120515-091152.jpg

I like to serve my guac+salsa in an avocado shell. It’s a good way to control portion and for parties, it keeps people from hovering over the chip and salsa area OR the dreaded pour onto your plate of food dilemma.

I serve the talapia whole. It flakes off anyway when I use a knife and fork. The best part is toward the end, when you have enough food to wrap in your soggy tortilla (which is why I think 2 tortillas are used) and you can eat it with your hands.

The sprouted lentils were made into a “slaw” with macerated onions, dash of champagne vinegar, pea shoots and seeded mustard.

2 thoughts on “Day20.Dinner

Leave a Reply

