Day8.lunch

20120503-011528.jpg
Chili Relleno- super cleanse friendly!

I was craving a burrito. I think I’m always craving burritos, but today especially. No tortilla, no crema, no nada! OK. I tried to get positive about lunch.

I bought a poblano from the market, not really knowing what I was going to do with it. I knew I wanted lentils for lunch, but in what form? Avocados at the farmer’s stand were $1 for 4, and unless I feel like making a big batch of sweet potato chips (not so much), and guacamole, they will go bad.

So, I sliced the poblano in half, stuffed it with a 1/3 cup of cooked lentils, 1/2 cup chopped avocado, few spoonfuls of my favorite fresh salsa, cumin spice and some ground chili. Added a squeeze of lime juice and lentil cooking water on top and baked the peppers for about 15 min at 350(degF). I really wanted to add onion and garlic, but didn’t have time.

Anyway, I was super happy that there were two halves, so I could keep eating.. 😉 Although this was a pale substitution for a burrito, at about 350 calories in total, a burrito would be calorically challenged to compete with this stuffed pepper dish.

20120503-013326.jpg

Leave a Reply

