Vegan Quiche- no crust, no tofu

20120914-123542.jpg

Quiche on the brain! I was inspired to make quiche for breakfast from a fellow blogger. His cheesy broccoli crustless quiche recipe made me think about how I could make one that worked with the contents of my fridge.

With my health and fitness focus, there’s rarely cheese in my home and I try not to eat a lot of breads or pastries. Crustless, cheeseless quiche it is!

Well, if I’m going there, I’m going to get creative! modified this wonderful recipe from Vegangela for Versatile Vegan Quiche. I actually don’t like using tofu very much. Maybe it’s my dislike for soy and its dangers, but you can decide for yourself. Here’s an article by writer, real foodist, Nina Planck.

Subbing tofu with some banana, spicy paprika for tumeric, and arugula for spinach, this recipe made me have seconds and want thirds!!

I also served the mini-quiche with homemade chipotle-roasted tomatillo-roasted tomato salsa! I thought the final product was delicious and I’m not feeling heavy like I often do with eggs.

20120914-123801.jpg
(not pictured: coconut oil and almond milk)

-1/2 cup cashews soaked in water
-1/2 large ripe banana (3/4cup)
-approx 2 tbsp coconut oil
-approx 4 tbsp almond milk

3/4 cup fennel
2-3 cup baby arugula (1cup for salad)
1/3 cup basil for salad and garnish
1 tbsp grapeseed oil
1-3 tsp spicy paprika

20120914-124330.jpg

Pan fry fennel in grapeseed oil until browned and soft. Add arugula and let wilt. Sprinkle paprika and mix gently. Turn off burner and remove pan from heat. Let cool.

After soaking cashews in water for 30 min-1 hour, pulverize with banana and almond milk, adding a little coconut oil at a time. Add more almond milk if the consistency is too thick. Should be like smooth pudding. Taste it! It will be a little sweet from the oil and banana, but it will mellow out, promise!

Pour mixture into a bowl and fold in arugula fennel filling.

20120914-124928.jpg

I pre-oiled some tart tins and poured the quiche mixture inside. Oops, I added sliced tomatoes, too! Forgot about that. Bake at 350 for 15-25 minutes. Edges will set and firm up and top will brown. Let cool but the bottom will still be a little sticky.

20120914-125043.jpg

Plate: Place a few leaves of basil and arugula in the center of the plate. Mandoline paper thin red onions on top. Remove the quiche and place on top. Spoon salsa in center of tomato slice. Snip some fresh herbs to add extra yum! Serve at room temperature.

The consistency is denser than if you use eggs, however, it is quite lovely. I like the hint of nuttiness with the hardy veggies. I love fennel and arugula and they were quite mellow in flavor after baking.

Salsa: 3 Roasted tomatillos, 4 roasted DF tomatoes, 2 rehydrated chipotle peppers, chopped, 1/3 cup white onion, powdered garlic, Mexican oregano, cilantro, limes and salt to taste. Blended.

20120914-130000.jpg

Looks and tastes like “normal” quiche!

Can’t wait to make these as appetizers for Thanksgiving! My vegan friends will just go nuts!

5 responses to “Vegan Quiche- no crust, no tofu

  1. This is so creative and interesting! I am looking forward to trying it as we are gluten and dairy free. Thanks for such an innovative recipe!

  2. Thanks for the shout-out :) This looks awesome. I would have NEVER thought to use banana in a savory quiche. I’m pinning this to try at some point :)

  3. Ok so seriously? Everything looks incredibly YUM! That crustless quiche looks too mouth watering to even show a photo of…that is sooooooo unfair. I am going to try that this weekend I think. No….next weekend … I have my daughter this weekend and she wants meat! Ack.

    And … I am in love with almond milk.

    • Thank you, Katie! I just had some leftovers and it is still super tasty. I too, love almond milk. My friend makes it from scratch but I haven’t had time to try..

      Have fun with your daughter this weekend!! Maybe you can add some ham on her version :) heehee

      I tend to ruin baking experiments, so I used fairly small tart tins so the cooking would be more even. My recipe was definitely an experiment, so I want to see how you do your version!

      xox Bam

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 8,036 hits

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

